BCCI announces schedule for IPL 2021

Indian Premier League (IPL) is scheduled to start from April 9 to May 30 across six venues with no team getting to play at home. Defending champions Mumbai Indians will face Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first match of the season at Chennai.

Each team is set to play at four venues during the league stage. Out of the 56 league matches, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata & Bengaluru will host 10 matches each while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches each. One of the highlights of this edition of the VIVO IPL will be the fact that all matches will be played at neutral venues, no team will play at their home venue. All teams will play at 4 out of 6 venues during the league stage.

Despite COVID-19 surge, Mumbai has been named as one of the host cities and the tournament will be held behind closed doors at least in in the initial phase of the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *