Shakib and Liton guide Bangladesh to a stunning win over West Indies

Shakib Al Hasan

Bangladesh defeated West Indies by 7 wickets in the 23rd match of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup. Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das were the star with the bat for Bangladesh as they chased down a target of 322 with 7 wickets in hand.

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and elected to field first. West Indies lost Chris Gayle early as he faced 13 deliveries without scoring a run. Evin Lewis and Shai Hope then added 116 runs for the second wicket before Lewis was caught by substitute fielder off Shakib.

Shai Hope was out on 96 as he missed his maiden worldcup century by 4 runs. Shimron Hetmeyer smashed 50 runs off just 26 balls which included 4 fours and 3 sixes. Skipper Jason Holder made a 15 ball 33 as West Indies posted a competitive total of 321/8 after the end of 50 overs.

Bangladesh in reply got off to a good start with openers Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar adding 52 runs for the opening stand from 8.2 overs. Soumya was the first one to be dismissed as he edged one to Chris Gayle at slips off Andre Russell. Shakib came in at number 3 and added 69 runs with Tamim Iqbal for the the second wickets before Tamim was runout courtesy to excellent presence of mind by Sheldon Cotrell. Tamim made 53 ball 48.

Mushfiqur Rahim was out for just 1 runs as Liton Das joined Shakib in the center. The duo added unbeaten 189 runs partnership to guide Bangladesh to a stunning win. Shakib completed his 9th ODI century and remained unbeaten on 99 ball 124 which included 16 fours.

Liton Das started off cautiously and picked the pace later in the innings. Liton hit Shannon Gabriel for 3 consecutive sixes after getting set. Liton smashed 94 runs from 69 balls with 8 fours and 4 sixes.

Match Summary :
Bangladesh 322 for 3 (Shakib 124*, Liton 94*, Tamim 48)
West Indies 321 for 8 (Hope 96, Lewis 70, Hetmyer 50, Mustafizur 3-59, Saifuddin 3-72)
by 7 wickets

Related Post

Watch : MS Dhoni plays running game with his fan Let’s c🤔— prudhvirajk (@rajvinay77) March 7, 2019
Hardik and Malinga give Mumbai a win over Bangalor... Mumbai Indians defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 5 wickets in the 31st match of the ongoing VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL). Mumbai chased down...
Afghanistan announce 15 man squad for World Cup Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced 15 man squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup. The Afghan Tigers will start the grand tournament a...
CSK Probable Playing XI for first match against RC...   Probable Playing XI of CSK for first match against RCB : Shane Watson Ambati Rayudu Suresh Raina MS Dhoni Kedar Jadhav Dwayn...
Live Streaming : Carribean Premier League (CPL) Dr... Watch the Live Streaming of CPL T20 Player Draft for the upcoming season of Carribean Premier League  
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals : Match Pr... The eights match of the ongoing VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) will be played between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) at Rajiv G...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *